Nissan aims to close LMP2 era with another Le Mans win

LinkedIn +

Nissan has been one of the most dominant forces in the LM P2 class, since its debut in 2011. However, the 2016 season will be the final year of competition for the VK-spec power plant with new LM P2 regulations kicking off a one-make engine formula next season.

Since making its debut at Sebring International Raceway at the opening round of the Intercontinental Le Mans Challenge, Nissan has won 61 out of 66 races in the ILMC, FIA World Endurance Championship and European Le Mans Series – a staggering 92% win rate.

Last season Nissan swept the FIA WEC championship with G-Drive Racing, the European Le Mans Series with Greaves Motorsport and took its fourth 24 Hours of Le Mans win with KCMG.

So dominant has the Nissan engine become in the FIA WEC, every team entered in the LM P2 class in 2016 has chosen NISMO-power. Nissan will power 33 percent of the entire grid at Le Mans this year and today those 4.5 litre, 450 horsepower engines completed 1,431 laps of the Circuit de la Sarthe circuit – a total of 19,503 kilometres across the two x four hour sessions.

In addition to the 20 cars lining up on the grid for the 24 Hours of Le Mans, Nissan will also power all 22 LM P3 prototypes taking part in the “Road to Le Mans” support race scheduled for Saturday morning prior to the green flag for the 24 Hour.

Share this story:

About Author


John joined UKi Media & Events in 2012 and has worked across a range of B2B titles within the company's automotive portfolio. Prior to joining the company, John worked for leading automotive design website, Car Design News. Currently editor of Engine Technology International, Professional MotorSport World, Professional MotorSport Circuit, and Transmission Technology International, John co-ordinates the day-the-day operations of each magazine, from commissioning and writing to editing and signing-off, as well managing web and social media content. Aside from the magazines, John also serves as chairman of the annual Professional MotorSport World Awards.

Comments are closed.