Toyota extends title sponsorship of Long Beach GP

LinkedIn +

The Grand Prix Association of Long Beach has announced that it has reached a ‘multi-year’ agreement with Toyota Motor Sales, U.S.A. Inc. and the Southern California Toyota Dealers Association to continue as the title sponsor of the Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach.

The extension ensures that Toyota’s 41-year relationship with one of America’s premier street races will continue. Toyota has been title sponsor of the event since 1980, thought to be the longest consecutive entitlement in professional sports, while the automaker’s presence dates back to serving as the official pace car at the event’s inaugural running in 1975.

“For the last four decades, Toyota has been proud of its affiliation with the Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach,” said Dave Harbuck, corporate manager of motorsports and engagement marketing, Toyota. “This title sponsorship has provided Toyota with the opportunity to showcase great racing in a fun environment for the fans.”

“We are absolutely thrilled to continue our relationship with Toyota Motor Sales and the Southern California Toyota Dealers Association,” added Jim Michaelian, president and CEO of the Grand Prix Association of Long Beach. “They have been an extraordinary partner in our event from the very beginning, and we look forward to extending this relationship to new heights in the coming years.”

Share this story:

About Author


John joined UKi Media & Events in 2012 and has worked across a range of B2B titles within the company's automotive portfolio. Prior to joining the company, John worked for leading automotive design website, Car Design News. Currently editor of Engine Technology International, Professional MotorSport World, Professional MotorSport Circuit, and Transmission Technology International, John co-ordinates the day-the-day operations of each magazine, from commissioning and writing to editing and signing-off, as well managing web and social media content. Aside from the magazines, John also serves as chairman of the annual Professional MotorSport World Awards.

Comments are closed.