2017 MSA British Rally Championship calendar announced

LinkedIn +

The MSA British Rally Championship has confirmed its proposed calendar for the 2017 season. Building on the extraordinary success of its first season back, next year’s BRC will further underline its standing as one of the leading domestic rally championship in the world.

With seven rounds in six territories, the 2017 BRC will traverse the United Kingdom with two rounds in Wales and one each in England, Scotland and Northern Ireland – all of which featured on this year’s calendar. The season will again conclude with a double points rally on the Isle of Man, but the long Manx event will be split into two legs, with equal points awarded for each. In keeping with the BRC’s international pedigree, the championship will reach overseas audiences with a visit to the legendary Ypres Rally in June for the demanding asphalt roads of northern Belgium.

The BRC returned to action this year with a new format based around FIA homologated cars. No fewer than 23 R5 and S2000 vehicles registered for the series, as well as 16 Juniors in R2 machinery.

As well as confirming the 2017 calendar, organisers have also revealed a change to the points system for next year. Points will be awarded after each event in line with the FIA’s current regulations – 25-18-15-12-10-8-6-4-2-1 – with the best seven scores from eight point scoring possibilities to count in the final reconciliation.

The BRC Joker that was introduced this year will remain in place, but will be worth fewer points. If a driver plays the joker and wins the event, they will receive an additional 5 points, if they come second they will receive 4 points, down to fifth place which will yield just one additional point.

“This has been an incredible first year for the championship,” said Ben Taylor, IMS managing director. “To have such a great response to the new BRC was overwhelming and I would like to thank everyone that has worked so hard to make the vision a reality. We know that we still have a lot of work to do and our aim is to build on what has been achieved so far in order to make the BRC better in every department. We have some exciting plans that should come to fruition in the next six months, but getting out the calendar in good time gives everyone the chance to make plans for next year.”

2017 MSA British Rally Championship Calendar:

4/5 March Mid-Wales Stages, Newtown

29/30 April Pirelli Carlisle Rally, Carlisle

19/20 May RSAC Scottish Rally, Dumfries

23/24 June Ypres Rally, Ypres, Belgium

15/16 July Nicky Grist Stages, Builth Wells

18/19 August Ulster Rally, Derry/Londonderry

14/16 September Rally Isle of Man, Douglas

Share this story:

About Author


John joined UKi Media & Events in 2012 and has worked across a range of B2B titles within the company's automotive portfolio. Prior to joining the company, John worked for leading automotive design website, Car Design News. Currently editor of Engine Technology International, Professional MotorSport World, Professional MotorSport Circuit, and Transmission Technology International, John co-ordinates the day-the-day operations of each magazine, from commissioning and writing to editing and signing-off, as well managing web and social media content. Aside from the magazines, John also serves as chairman of the annual Professional MotorSport World Awards.

Comments are closed.