Volkswagen takes third consecutive WRC title

LinkedIn +

Sébastien Ogier, Julien Ingrassia and the Volkswagen Polo R WRC were crowned world champions on the back of another victory, this time at the Rally Australia. For the third year in a row, all the titles in the FIA World Rally Championship (WRC) are heading back to Wolfsburg, Germany.

The one-two finish for Volkswagen Motorsport at the Rally Australia sealed the championship for the squad, and enabled them to seal the championship earlier than any other manufacturer has done before in the WRC. 

Ogier’s team mates, Jari-Matti Latvala and Andreas Mikkelsen currently lie second and third overall in the driver’s standings, with three rallies remaining.

The Australian victory was the Polo R WRC’s ninth win in ten rallies so far in 2015. As such, the car remains the most successful model in WRC history: since Volkswagen returned to championship in 2013, 31 of 36 victories have gone to the Polo R WRC, with the car claiming an impressive total of 62 podium finishes. 

The final quarter of the FIA World Rally Championship (WRC) begins in France at the start of October, and is quickly followed by the Rally Spain two weeks later, before concluding at the Rally Great Britain mid-November. 

Share this story:

About Author


John joined UKi Media & Events in 2012 and has worked across a range of B2B titles within the company's automotive portfolio. Prior to joining the company, John worked for leading automotive design website, Car Design News. Currently editor of Engine Technology International, Professional MotorSport World, Professional MotorSport Circuit, and Transmission Technology International, John co-ordinates the day-the-day operations of each magazine, from commissioning and writing to editing and signing-off, as well managing web and social media content. Aside from the magazines, John also serves as chairman of the annual Professional MotorSport World Awards.

Comments are closed.