Subaru takes fourth SP3T class honours at N24

LinkedIn +

Subaru Tecnica International (STI), the motorsport division of Subaru, has won the SP3T class for the fourth time at the 2016 Nürburgring 24-Hour Race. The SP3T class is for turbo-charged cars powered by an engine of 2.0-litres or under. The Subaru WRX STI NBR Challenge 2016 is a racing car based on the WRX STI mass-production model.

The team, led by general team manager Hidehari Tatsumi and team manager Shigeo Sugaya, started the final from second position in class after qualifying, but took the lead early on. Driven by Carlo van Dam (Netherlands), Marcel Lasée (Germany), Tim Schrick (Germany) and Hideki Yamauchi (Japan), the WRX STI completed 121 laps (approx. 3,070 km) in 24 hours and claimed a class win. STI has now competed in the Nürburgring 24-Hour Race for nine consecutive years, with 2016 marking the fourth win in the SP3T class, following its last victory in the 2015 race.

Share this story:

About Author


John joined UKi Media & Events in 2012 and has worked across a range of B2B titles within the company's automotive portfolio. Prior to joining the company, John worked for leading automotive design website, Car Design News. Currently editor of Engine Technology International, Professional MotorSport World, Professional MotorSport Circuit, and Transmission Technology International, John co-ordinates the day-the-day operations of each magazine, from commissioning and writing to editing and signing-off, as well managing web and social media content. Aside from the magazines, John also serves as chairman of the annual Professional MotorSport World Awards.

Comments are closed.