Mercedes-Benz to appear on 2017 British GT grid

LinkedIn +

The Mercedes-AMG GT3 is set to appear full-time in the British GT Championship for the first time next season.

Team ABBA with Rollcentre Racing has announced it has swapped the BMW Z4 GT3 it campaigned in 2016 for the new Mercedes, a model which won the Pirelli-equipped Blancpain GT Series in its first season this year. Two such cars run by Black Falcon also placed third and fourth in a one-off British GT appearance at Spa-Francorchamps.

The team will again field Richard Neary and Martin Short as drivers. “Maybe there’s a perception that, as an Am/ Am pairing, we’re content to make up the numbers, but that’s not the case at all,” said Short. “I think the Z4 masked our potential last season; for whatever reason we just weren’t comfortable with it.

“Investing in a new-generation GT3 car shows our commitment but also the belief that, in the right circumstances, we can spring a surprise or two. Richard is a very good Am – one of the best in fact – and exceptional in the wet, and I gained a lot of confidence from testing the Mercedes in Germany. We know we’re better than last season’s results suggest and are really up for it. We don’t expect to be winning races but want to do well and will be disappointed if we don’t.”

The outfit has also made the switch from BMW to Mercedes for the Pirelli-supplied series, and is in talks with potential drivers.

Share this story:

About Author


John joined UKi Media & Events in 2012 and has worked across a range of B2B titles within the company's automotive portfolio. Prior to joining the company, John worked for leading automotive design website, Car Design News. Currently editor of Engine Technology International, Professional MotorSport World, Professional MotorSport Circuit, and Transmission Technology International, John co-ordinates the day-the-day operations of each magazine, from commissioning and writing to editing and signing-off, as well managing web and social media content. Aside from the magazines, John also serves as chairman of the annual Professional MotorSport World Awards.

Comments are closed.