SST Technology launches Titanium AFP-Halo

LinkedIn +

SST Technology, a UK-based engineering business specialising in the design and manufacture of bespoke, advanced precision fabrications and thermal management systems for high-tech industries, has unveiled its Titanium Driver Protection System.

In doing so, SST has become the first, and only UK manufacturer of this type of system, which is becoming a mandatory option in a variety of FIA-sanctioned single seater championships.

The new protection system from SST Technology has achieved conformity to the FIA Standard 8869-2018, allowing it to supply the Additional Frontal Protection Halo (AFP-Halo), into the Formula 1, Formula 2 and Formula E series.

SST Technology states that during development of the AFP-Halo, it employed the extensive experience it has garnered over decades of designing, developing and manufacturing high precision fabricated components, tube manipulation and precision machining.

Extremely tight material control, production parameters and dimensional tolerances were required to allow an accurate fit up of the assembly onto the chassis, and to meet the extremely high load requirements of this structure.

The Titanium Driver Protection System, referred to in short as the DPS-ProTi, is manufactured to be at the lower limit of the weight tolerance stipulated by the FIA.

Share this story:

About Author


John joined UKi Media & Events in 2012 and has worked across a range of B2B titles within the company's automotive portfolio. Prior to joining the company, John worked for leading automotive design website, Car Design News. Currently editor of Engine Technology International, Professional MotorSport World, Professional MotorSport Circuit, and Transmission Technology International, John co-ordinates the day-the-day operations of each magazine, from commissioning and writing to editing and signing-off, as well managing web and social media content. Aside from the magazines, John also serves as chairman of the annual Professional MotorSport World Awards.

Comments are closed.