Recaro Pole Position series regains FIA homologation

LinkedIn +

Recaro’s popular Pole Position range of seats has regained its FIA homologation following a redesign.

Towards the end of 2014, during internal crash tests for the FIA standard 8855-1999, Recaro found that the composite shell for the seats cracked near the front attachment points for the seat adapter brackets. Recaro voluntarily forwarded on this information to the FIA, shortly before the homologation certificate was withdrawn.

The all-new Recaro Pole Position N.G. (FIA) replaces the previous model Pole Position SPG (FIA), which is no longer being produced. In the re-engineered Pole Position N.G., the seat is now said to ‘bring together the highest standards for safety, ergonomics and design’.

The seat shell is still made of glass-fiber reinforced plastic (GRP), and is suitable for use with four-, five- or six-point harnesses. Flame-resistant upholstery materials increase safety for drivers, whilst screw-mounted panels on the belt slots guarantee a clean run of the belt to increase comfort and safety. The Pole Position N.G. retains the replaceable seat and backrest cushions, as well as a lumbar cushion for further driver comfort.

For installation in different car types, Recaro is offering three adapters with FIA approval. In addition to the two standard adapters made of steel, a new aluminum version provides additional weight reduction.

Share this story:

About Author


John joined UKi Media & Events in 2012 and has worked across a range of B2B titles within the company's automotive portfolio. Prior to joining the company, John worked for leading automotive design website, Car Design News. Currently editor of Engine Technology International, Professional MotorSport World, Professional MotorSport Circuit, and Transmission Technology International, John co-ordinates the day-the-day operations of each magazine, from commissioning and writing to editing and signing-off, as well managing web and social media content. Aside from the magazines, John also serves as chairman of the annual Professional MotorSport World Awards.

Comments are closed.