UK Prototype Cup gains ACO backing

LinkedIn +

The Prototype Cup will become known as the Henderson Insurance Brokers LMP3 Cup Championship in 2017, following the announcements of an official endorsement from the organiser of the Le Mans 24 Hours, as well as a new title sponsor.

Championship organiser Bute Motorsport has agreed a three-year deal with the ACO (Automobile Club de l’Ouest) to be the exclusive LMP3 Championship in the UK, with licensing rights to use the LMP3 name and technical regulations. Meanwhile, Henderson Insurance Brokers have come onboard as title sponsors.

The LMP3 Cup Championship will run its first full season in 2017 after an inaugural race last October. Bute Motorsport has also announced that the drivers’ champion will receive an entry into a European series for 2018, including a race at Le Mans on the morning before the famous endurance race.

“This is a fantastic development for the championship,” said Bute Motorsport’s director and race manager, Hannah Wilson. “We have received an excellent level of interest from team and drivers alike so it is shaping up nicely. We now have the support of the ACO which is a fantastic endorsement for Bute and the way we do business. This announcement cements the LMP3 Cup Championship as the ‘go to’ series in the UK for prototype racers and we are very excited to get racing.”

Share this story:

About Author


John joined UKi Media & Events in 2012 and has worked across a range of B2B titles within the company's automotive portfolio. Prior to joining the company, John worked for leading automotive design website, Car Design News. Currently editor of Engine Technology International, Professional MotorSport World, Professional MotorSport Circuit, and Transmission Technology International, John co-ordinates the day-the-day operations of each magazine, from commissioning and writing to editing and signing-off, as well managing web and social media content. Aside from the magazines, John also serves as chairman of the annual Professional MotorSport World Awards.

Comments are closed.